Goodby 2010 and Welcome 2011! 

Gourd Art-Leading the People

Illustration by Speaks With Ancestors.  To purchase this item and/or see more of Candy Thomas’s work,
 

Our Tsalagi elder, KickingBear, started our year off to a wonderful start this morning with this blessing.

 

Osiyo anadanvtli ale anadalv –
(Good to see you brothers and sisters)

alihelisdi tali-iyagayvli sadui
(happy two-thousand eleven)

May your tracks leave a trail for all to follow
the path of righteousness and honor,
traveling the sacred circle with harmony and balance,
connected with all things in spirit.

May this coming year of great change see you grow
in spirit and heart, a light for others to see,
bringing pride to our people.

May you stand in the present but with the past in your heart that all may see by your tracks how to follow the
red road.
It is my prayer, so shall it be.

It is ALL good
Nvwadohiyada
KB

Bird Talker
Painting by Kicking Bear.  To purchase this piece or see more of Kicking Bear’s work, please go to
 

Then, later our gusdi, Ron, shared a Dear Abby piece with us.

 

Just for Today

Just for today: I will live through this day only, I will not brood about yesterday or obsess about tomorrow. I will not set far reaching goals or try to overcome all of my problems at once. I know that I could do something for 24 hours that would overwhelm me if I had to keep it up for a lifetime.

Just for today: I will be happy. I will not dwell on thoughts that depress me. If my mind fills with clouds, I will chase them away and fill it with sunshine.

Just for today: I will accept what is. I will face reality. I will correct those things that I can correct and accept those I cannot.

Just for today: I will improve my mind. I will read something that requires effort, thought and concentration. I will not be a mental loafer.

Just for today: I will make a conscious effort to be agreeable. I will be kind and courteous to those who cross my path and I’ll not speak ill of others.I will improve my appearance, speak softly and not interrupt when someone else is talking.
Just for today I will refrain from improving anyone but myself.

Just for today: I will do something positive to improve my health. If I’m a smoker, I’ll quit. If I am overweight, I will eat healthfully – if only just for today. And not only that – I will get up off the couch and take a brisk walk, even if it’s only around the block.

Just for today: I will gather the courage to do what is right and take responsibility for my own actions.

Ron stated, “Wouldn’t it me nice to start each and every day by reading that first and then doing so.”

I noticed that there were 7 elements and concluded that maybe I could work on one of them each day of the week.  If I were to do that, I know that 2011 would be the best year ever.

 

Happy New Year To All!
