Veterans Day 2009Veterans Day 2009

 

A Veterans Day Tribute

 

Our friend, Cripple Creek Wood Work, lost his brother to war.

 

He composed this song to pay honor to him and to other Veterans who have given their lives for our country. 

I think this is a fitting tribute for Veterans Day and thank Dennis, Cripple Creek Wood Work for sharing this intimate song with us.

 

Letters Home

by Cripple Creek Wood Work

Dad I know your mad, that I joined the Corps
And I’m sure you’re worried, that I’m fighting this war
But I’m a man, hell I’m nearly twenty-one
And I’m just trying to be, my fathers son
Trying to make you proud, and show you I’ve grown
I’m not with the crowd, I’m standing on my own.
But it’s Hell over hear, especially at night
So please Dad, don’t forget to write
Your loving son, doing all that I can.
Trying to make you see, your boy is now a man.
I fight for you, and the American way.
To win your love, and make you proud someday.

Dad I know your tired, working day and night.
And just don’t have any time to write.
I understand, Dad I really do
But it would sure be nice, just to hear from you.
Just a one page letter, or an old post card.
Come on Dad, It can’t be that hard
‘Cause it’s Hell over hear, fighting day and night
So please take the time to write.
Your loving son, doing all I can.
Trying to prove to you, your boy is now a man
I fight for you, and the American flag
to give you a smile and a reason to brag.

Dad, I hope this letter finds its way to you.
But of all you’ve written, I’ve only got two.
But I keep them close and read them every day.
And I fill in the words, I never hear you say.
I know it’s your way, of making me tough.
But I long for the words, you never say enough.
‘Cause it’s Hell over hear, it’s an endless fight
So please don’t forget to write.
Your loving son, doing all I can
Trying to prove to you, your boy is now a man
I fight for you, and the American dream
But I fight in vane, that’s the way it seams.

Well there sending me home, Dad I’m on my way.
Wearing an American flag, I’m coming home to stay.
It would make me proud, to know you care.
When my plane sets down, to have you waiting there.
You can lay me to rest, under that old oak tree.
The one with the swing, you made when I was three.
And you can come and visit, in the still of night.
I’ll hear what you say, you won’t have to write
Your loving son, I gave all I can.
I can’t do anymore, I just a mortal man.
I fought for you, and America too.
To hear you say, son I’m proud of you.

 

Artist Exposed- Southwest bangle Bracelet

 

Here is Dennis working on one of his marvelous wood bangle bracelets.  To purchase this bracelet

or to see more of his work, please go to:

Leave a Reply

