Snake Story
Submitted by  Native Beads

A small child lived in the forest with her family and her parents naturally advised her of the dangers of the forest. The most important one was to beware of snakes and not to touch them or trust them in any way, no matter what they said.

 

The child had to go visit her elderly grandmother who lived not far away, so her parents sent her off with the usual warning. The child was happily skipping toward her grandmother’s house when she ran into a huge snake laying right in the middle of the road.

 

The snake spoke to her and said, “Do not be afraid of me, I will not hurt you”. Then the child said, “No, my parents warned me not to even talk to you”.

 

The snake spoke to her and said, “Do not be afraid of me, I will not hurt you”. Then the child said, “No, my parents warned me not to even talk to you”.

 

The child was obedient and said, “No, I don’t trust you”. So the snake just slithered down the road right next to her.

 

After a few minutes the snake started whining again, saying “ Please, I am so tired and I won’t hurt you, I promise, I am just so thirsty. I am just an old snake and I won’t bite you, really.”

 

Again, the little girl said ,”No, I don’t trust you and my parents warned me”. But the snake just kept on slithering right next to her.

 

Then when the old farmhouse was in sight, the snake got excited and said, “Come on, we are almost there and it is only a little ways to go. If you can just give me a ride in your back pack, this old snake would be so grateful and I promise I won’t bother you anymore.

 

Well, the little girl finally got tired of hearing him beg and relented. She let him crawl into her backpack to give him a ride the rest of the way.

 

The snake was quiet until they were almost at their destination. Then, out of the blue, he bit the child on the neck. “What the heck did you do that for?” the child exclaimed. “I was nice to you and gave you a ride when you were tired and thirsty and this is how you treat me?

 

You promised not to bite and then you did. WHY? the child demanded.
The old snake slithered down onto the ground and said quite coyly, “Because it is my nature to act like a snake”.

 

The piece used to illustrate this story was done by lakotawitko.  She is relatively new to our NA thread and we welcome her and her wonderful work.  In her profile she says, “I am a traditional Hunkpapa Lakota Sioux woman and enjoy keeping the traditions of my people alive by doing things the way my ancestors have as well as more modern pieces. I’ve been making crafts using primarily traditional methods for nearly 25 years.”

 

Here is another piece of her work:

Bird and beads

To see more, please go to:
www.lakotawitko.etsy.com
